6.4-kilometer Tacloban City Bypass Road formally inaugurated

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte, accompanied by DPWH Secretary Roger G. Mercado, led the unveiling of the project marker on Thursday afternoon, March 17, 2022, to formally inaugurate the 6.45-kilometer Bypass Road. Photo: DPWH-8/Facebook

TACLOBAN CITY – President Rodrigo Roa Duterte, along with Department of Public Works and Highways Secretary Roger G. Mercado, led the unveiling of the project marker to formally inaugurate the 6.405-kilometer Tacloban City Bypass Road on Thursday afternoon, March 17, 2022.

Presidential Assistant for the Visayas Secretary Michael Lloyd Dino, Senator Christopher Lawrence "Bong" Go, House of Representatives Majority Leader Cong. Ferdinand Martin G. Romualdez, and Tacloban City Mayor Alfred S. Romualdez are all present for this historic occasion.

The construction of the Tacloban City Bypass Road relieves traffic congestion along the Daang-Maharlika (LT) corridor, improves the accessibility of the road network, thereby increasing the region's development potential, and reduces travel time from 12 hours to 30 minutes, benefiting thousands of motorists each day.

This road project begins in Brgy. Nula-Tula, Tacloban City and ends in Brgy. Caibaan, Tacloban City, also along Daang Maharlika (LT) - K0905+000.

Tacloban City Bypass Road, completed under President Duterte's administration through the Build Build Build (BBB) program, entails the construction or concreting of 6.405 kilometers of road, including four-lane and six-lane roadway, as well as the construction of drainage and slope protection structures.

According to DPWH 8 Regional Director Allan S. Borromeo, the Php 2.125-billion road project has been under construction since February 2015, and its completion will boost the economic development of Eastern Visayas.

Sec. Mercado also praises the efforts of DPWH Regional Office 8, which serves as the project's implementation office.

"We are proud of the successful implementation of the Tacloban City Bypass Road, a significant project added to the Duterte Legacy" Sec. Mercado said in a statement. 

Rafael C. Yabut, Senior Undersecretary for Operations in NCR and Region 8, Assistant Secretary Wilfredo S. Mallari, Assistant Secretary Rolito D. Manalo, DPWH 8 Regional Director Allan S. Borromeo, ARD David P. Adongay, Jr., and other DPWH 8 key officials are also present. —Tacloban News Update (source: DPWH-8)

iTacloban aims to help people by providing the most recent educational content such as online guides, tutorials, news, updates, and digital content from the Philippines and around the world. Email us at itaclobanph@gmail.com for business promotions or partnerships. facebook twitter email

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post